Saturday, November 04, 2006

Jeter Wins 3rd Gold Glove

Derek Jeter added another piece of hardware to his trophy case on Thursday, capturing his third consecutive Rawlings Gold Glove Award.
"The Gold Glove Award means a great deal to me," Jeter said in a statement. "Fielding doesn't get many headlines, but it's a big part of the game of baseball. I take great pride in my defense, and to be recognized with a Gold Glove for three straight seasons is a great honor that I will always cherish."

Jeter also won this year's Hank Aaron Award in the American League and is a front-runner for the league's Most Valuable Player Award.

Yankees owner George Steinbrenner was "elated" upon hearing of Jeter's gold glove, according to the owner's spokesman, Howard Rubenstein.

"I'm very proud of Derek," Steinbrenner said through Rubenstein. "I hope he wins the MVP; he should. He's a great Yankee and a great leader."

Jeter's .975 fielding percentage ranked fourth in the AL, while his 15 errors were third fewest behind to Texas' Michael Young and Chicago's Juan Uribe (14 each) among all AL shortstops who played in at least 130 games. Young (.981), Cleveland's Jhonny Peralta (.977) and Uribe (.977) were the only shortstops with a better fielding percentage.

In 2004, Jeter became the first Yankees shortstop to win the award, giving the Bombers a Gold Glover at every position in their history.

The Yankees now have had 20 players win a total of 57 Gold Glove Awards, led by Don Mattingly's nine at first base.

The other winners in the AL were Detroit's Kenny Rogers and Ivan Rodriguez, Texas' Mark Teixeira, Kansas City's Mark Grudzielanek, Oakland's Eric Chavez, Toronto's Vernon Wells, Seattle's Ichiro Suzuki and Minnesota's Torii Hunter.

Rawlings established the Gold Glove Award to recognize the best fielders at each position. Managers and coaches of each team vote for the best defensive players in their league, excluding their own team.

The first Rawlings Gold Gloves were awarded to one player at each position across both leagues in 1957. Since 1958, the Rawlings Gold Glove Award has been presented annually to a lineup of nine players for both the American and National Leagues.

Add to RootZoo
BallHype: hype it up! Posted by Steve Kenul at 11:26 PM


  • Blogger AL posted at 11:36 AM  
    Hey Yankee...
    I can see no problems using Mozilla...
  • Blogger Zachary A. posted at 10:31 PM  
    Michael Young deserved the award, but I ain't complaining. :)
  • Blogger Trollmeister posted at 6:33 AM  
    Hey Steve,

    Your formatting is all out on IE7 and I can't see half of what you've written.

    Please could you sort it out so I can't see the other half either?

    Cheers buddy,
  • Post a Comment

    « Home


    By far, the online casino reviews can be found at Looking for a top online sports betting website? Try When Pro football starts, look to for the best NFL betting news and information. At the end of the season, enjoy first class SuperBowl betting by joining our top sportsbook sites.

    Blogging Sponsorships

    If you would like to sponser on this site, contact:

    Vote 2008 Bloggers Choice Awards


    Baseball Terminology

    Terms and Abbreviations

    Front Office

    Owner [-]
    Bio [-]
    Location: Plainview, New York, United States

    I have, and always will be, a true Yankees fan. Don't give me that bandwagon crap; bandwagon fans are for people who need to belong.

    Public Relations [â??]
    Enter your email address below to subscribe to Bronx Bloggers!

    powered by Bloglet


    The Bandwagon

    Baseball Reference
    National Baseball HoF
    Yankees Official Site
    SportsWorld NY
    A Must Read
    Cheating Barry
    Live Soccer Streaming
    The Sports Flow
    The Sports Hernia
    Sports Blog Directory
    Big Reds Blogger
    Sport For People
    SportsBlog NY
    Sports Betting
    Smarter Sports Blog
    Sport Blog Man
    Don Mattingly Online - The Official Website!

    The Back Page


    Web Page Hit Counters eXTReMe Tracker

    Disclosure statement
    Creative Commons License
    This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-No Derivative Works 3.0 License.